David A. Green Memorial Award

David Green—SAGE founder, monumental force, and radical visionary—revolutionized the way we think, feel, operate, and design environments for older adults. He is credited with developing the first households in a nursing home setting with the United States based upon an innovative approach for memory care supported by OBRA ’87. Because David was one of the founding members of SAGE and was instrumental in creating the major principles that guide it today, SAGE is pleased to administer this award.

The David A. Green Memorial Award provides an Environments for Aging Conference experience to a first-time attendee. This is a perpetual fund that continues to grow through generous contributions from the many supporters of David Green’s vision. Help us ensure the longevity and impact of the fund by making a contribution.

The 2022 Environments for Aging Conference is currently scheduled for April 2-5, 2022, in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. 

Applications are now closed for the 2022 David A Green Memorial Award. Click “Apply” to submit an application for the 2023 award! 


Applicants must be first-time Environments for Aging Conference attendees and have no more than five years experience in the senior-living industry. 

The idea behind this award to is to make this conference experience a possibility for someone just getting started in the senior-living industry. Many SAGE members will tell you that EFA is simply the BEST conference out there for architects, designers, regulators, educators, students, consultants, providers, and others who are committed to excellence in senior living.  


Applications are now closed for the 2022 David A Green Memorial Award. Click “Apply” to submit an application for the 2023 award! 


Environments for Aging (EFA) Conference Experience, including:
  • Full-conference registration for the Environments for Aging Conference and Expo, compliments of Emerald Expositions.
  • Attend SAGE-sponsored sessions with a SAGE thought leader.
  • Transportation–SAGE will arrange and prepay transportation to and from the conference ($600 limit).
  • Lodging at conference hotel (Arranged and prepaid by SAGE).
  • Meals and local transportation–Some meals are included with full-conference registration. Award recipient will receive a daily stipend to cover additional meals and local transportation.
  • Networking opportunities with SAGE members and leaders at the SAGE member reception as well as scheduled meals with some of the greatest minds of SAGE.
  • One-year complimentary SAGE membership.
  • Award Value: Approximately $3,000. This is not a cash award.  

2022 David A. Green Memorial Award Winners

Karli Schneider

Memory Care Manager, Riley Crossing Senior Living

My goal is to make senior living be the best experience for these well deserving people so that in their late years of life they can thrive and live purposefully.”


Brooke Saba McDowell, WELL AP, LFA


When I think about environments for aging today, I consider how every human on earth is aging from their first breath until their last. I view our living systems holistically, including the interconnectedness of our built, natural, social, spiritual, financial, and virtual environments.

Past David A. Green Memorial Award Winners:
Perspectives on the Conference Experience


Rebecca Soja (2021)

Architectural Designer & Researcher, HKS

“It is clear the community that SAGE and EFA attracts and fosters is a special one…Time will tell, but from where I sit now, with more confidence, direction, and possibilities for future collaborations and impact, I would hypothesize that attending EFA because of the David Green Memorial Award may be one of the pivotal points of my professional journey.” 


Connor Chelmecki (2020)

Architectural Designer, Worn Jerabek Wiltse Architects, PC

 “This experience has invigorated me to continue the innovative methods of ground-breaking research and empathic design displayed throughout the entirety of the Environments for Aging Conference.”



Shirah Cahill (2019) 

Landscape Designer, SWBR

“Being around the minds of SAGE and other leaders in the industry reaffirmed my belief that designing places for aging adults is a truly noble and important task that deserves and requires hard work, perseverance and the passion and desire to constantly improve your own practice.”