SAGE Webinar: Lighting for Elders

  • Tuesday, April 10, 2018
  • 12:00 PM (CDT)
  • Webinar

Registration

  • The cost for this webinar is $50 for the general public. SAGE members can participate in all SAGE webinars throughout the year for FREE. SAGE membership is just $95 per year and has many benefits. Learn more by exploring the "Join Us" link in the menu bar. If you choose to join SAGE you can then register for this webinar immediately at no charge.
  • This webinar is FREE for SAGE members. If you are a member and are unable to select this option, please login to the website by clicking "login" in the upper left-hand corner of this page.

Registration is closed

Tuesday, April 10--1 pm EDT, noon CDT, 11 am MDT, 10 am PDT

This course is AIA approved for one Learning Unit (LU). 

Are you an ASID, IIDA, or IDS Member interested in earning CEU's for this course through IDCEC? CLICK HERE for more information!

COURSE DESCRIPTION

As our population continues to age so do our eyes. The visual requirements of older persons are much different than the younger population. Increased light levels, attention to contrast, detail and the healing attributes of lighting are all important factors in designing lighting for the elderly. This presentation will identify ways in which the eye ages, common diseases and what we can do with lighting as a tool in designing for the aging eye.

LEARNING OBJECTIVES

  1. Understand the terminology and physical factors of the eye.
  2. Describe the phases of the aging eye and common diseases.
  3. Look at lighting solutions where lighting can be used as a tool when designing for the elderly.
  4. Describe evidence based research on lighting that can improve human health.
PRESENTED BY

Laurie Emery, LC, MIES
Healthcare Market Development Manager







Lauren Schwade, LC, EDAC, IES
Sr. Lighting Designer, Healthcare Specialist





© 2018 The Society for the Advancement of Gerontological Environments. All rights reserved.

The Society for the Advancement of Gerontological Environments is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software